Recipes

seasonal nesting: blondie edition

So I’m obviously on a cooking kick here lately, but other than that roast (yes, I’ll post the recipe, but I don’t have pics..) I’ve been concentrating on desserts.  Gotta love it, right? Well, I found a recipe for cake-batter blondies & figured I had to try it.  Was headed out to visit with friends again this past weekend & decided it would be a perfect thing to bring along.

All set up & ready to go...

I found the recipe on the “Cookies & Cups” blog – a fabulous spot if you’re looking for something decadent.  I looked it over… thought about it… and made a couple changes.  Here’s the original recipe from “Six Sisters“:

  • 1 box vanilla cake mix
  • 1/4 cup vegetable oil
  • 1 egg
  • 1/2 cup milk
  • 1/2 cup white chocolate chips
  • 1/2 cup mini marshmallows

The blog post I saw on Cookies & Cups said she used the ‘funfetti’ cake mix.  If I’d been serving to kids, that would have been exactly what I’d have done. However, I thought it would be fun to change it up a bit… So I decided to go w/ a Butter Pecan cake mix.  I also used Almond milk – that’s what’s in the house. 🙂

Oh yeah. It worked. (yum!)

Lumpy, gooey goodness.

And the instructions:

  1. Preheat oven to 350°
  2. Prepare a 9×9 pan with baking spray
  3. In a large bowl combine cake mix, vegetable oil, egg and milk. Mix on medium low speed until the ingredients are just combined. Batter will be dense.
  4. Stir in your chips and marshmallows until distributed evenly.
  5. Spread in your prepared pan.
  6. Bake for 25 minutes until center is just set.

    Golden Brown & Beautiful

Just that simple!  It turned out fabulously & I couldn’t have been happier w/ the results.  (Same goes for my friends, because the pan didn’t last the weekend!)  There was also a recipe for a Marshmellow Buttercream frosting… but my time was limited, so I just bought some cream cheese frosting & slapped it on.  *fabulous*

Decadent Perfection

I’m not kidding when I said these didn’t last… I had to put the group on lock-down just so I’d have a couple to photograph for this post!  And in case you’re wondering, I totally regressed to my 8-year-old self while I was making these & licked the mixing bowl CLEAN.  True story. 🙂

So enjoy… super-simple & simply wonderful.

Leave a Reply

