Seasons

dark side of the year

[Special welcome to the visitors from ‘The Real Witches of Halloween’ Blog Tour… hope you enjoy my blog!]

You know we work it!

I’m definitely ‘Team Dark’.  All you heat-worshippers out there who live for Spring & Summer… well, you can have it.  I’m not truly happy until we’re a little further away from the sun.  Don’t get me wrong, I love the balance of our yearly trip through the stars, and wouldn’t have it any other way.  But for a cool-weather-loving southern girl (where our seasons are: Summer, More Summer, Still Summer & Christmas), when we finally get a break in the heat it’s like coming alive.

I have the distinct blessing to have been born a Virgo, so each year my birthday heralds the beginning of my favorite time of year.  All the best activities, holidays, weather… it just doesn’t get any better than the ‘dark half’ of the wheel.  Maybe I’m an odd duck (entirely possible), but the darker the better for me.  I joke with my friends that I could quite happily move to Seattle – I *adore* the rain.  I even have a fabulous pair of red paisley rain boots that sit next to my front door year-round…

The Glory of the Season

Halloween, Samhain, All Soul’s, Celtic New Year – Call it what you will, but the end of October is the perfect mix of fun & spirituality, innocence & a tinge of evil… because let’s face it, don’t we all have a little devil inside? 😀  There is so much to love about the season –

The brilliant patchwork of colors on every tree

The smells of cinnamon & pumpkin & warm spices

The crunch of footsteps on fallen leaves

The brisk bite on the edge of the wind

The snap & pop of a cheerful fire

And chocolate… don’t forget chocolate!

Jeans... another wonderful thing about Autumn

Many witches love this time of year, but their true rejuvenation happens in the Spring.  Not this Hearth Witch – I’m a dark side girl… always have been, always will be.  When Autumn rolls around, I get to work.  I’m baking and decorating, throwing windows open and changing décor, planning the holidays and overworking my crockpot.  There aren’t enough hours in the day to accommodate all the things I want to do.

So let me hear you, sister-witches, who else is a ‘dark side girl’?

6 thoughts on “dark side of the year

  1. I definitely prefer the darker time of year. I love Autumn! I think it’s probably something in my dna, but everything about the season is attractive to me – the different lighting, the colors, the crisp air and of course, halloween! Glad to have found your blog!

  2. Definitely I thrive in the dark side! Fall for me is so cleansing and promising of good times to come. But also our summers are usually 110 degrees every day and usually make me feel so physically and spiritually sluggish that I’d just like to hide under a rock.

    • I know exactly what you mean! Down here in GA the heat hits you like a blast-oven & the humidity makes you feel like your face is melting off. LoL

      Can’t beat the cool weather for rejuvination after all that! (Inside & Out)

  3. oh you took the words out of my mouth. we are in the process from moving from north carolina to washington and i seriously couldn’t be happier. i went there for a visit and i was so excited about the cloudy weather, my family thought i was nuts. i cannot wait to get there, hopefully it will be sooner rather than later (i really miss my hubby too!). i am a solitary too and found your blog thru the real witches of halloween blog party, so glad to have found you, come to my blog when you get a chance (mine will be posted on the 20th as well!).

Leave a Reply

