Growth

a change is comin’…

Big changes are on the horizon for me. How do I know? Well, it’s simple. My underwear is falling apart. ALL of it. Thongs to Grannies, Sports Bras to Push-ups… it’s busted elastic & ripped seams from one end to the other.

Seriously. For the first time ever in my life, it’s all gone kaput at the same time. That’s gotta mean something. I mean, come on… how does that even happen?!

My first instinct was to play it safe – head to Wal-mart or Ross or something & buy some cheap ‘stop-gap’ under-duds and just make do. I could get quite a bit & not spend too much. Money is always an issue – not like I’ve got a ton of it. The only other alternative is to dive into the world of quality “ladies’ garments”… a place where you schedule a fitting appointment & discover your ‘true’ size. Supposed to make a world of difference, but I’ve always been leery. Seemed like a lot of money to me for something that stays under wraps most of the time.

But then I really thought about it. Change. Overhaul. Big things coming at me. If this was a cosmic head’s up that something major was on its way, was I going to play it safe… follow my same old pattern of “make do”… or was I going to throw caution to the wind & jump into something new with both feet?

I know, I know… underwear as a metaphor for life – it’s a bit bizarre. But it fit. It made sense. I don’t want to take the safe path – I don’t want to let fear (or common sense) dictate my every action – I don’t want the constant chatter of my often-traitorous OCD brain to beat me down until I give in and cower…

I want to live outrageously.

So maybe it means I only get two bras & a handful of underwear… maybe it means I’ll be standing at the sink every other day hand-washing my lingerie so that I have clean pairs… but maybe that’s the way it should be.

Because if I can step out of my comfort zone on the little things – it’ll be that much easier to take those steps when the ‘real’ things come along. And that, I know, is where I want to be.

So if you’ll excuse me… I have to call a girl about a fitting.

2 thoughts on “a change is comin’…

Leave a Reply

