Recipes / Seasons

warm nibbly treat…

I don’t know about you, but with all the sweets and decadence surrounding the holidays, I sometimes find myself craving the savory goodies.  One of my all-time favorites (from waaaaay back in the day) is sausage-cheese balls. (Drool)

I honestly thought these little bites of heaven couldn’t get any better, until I found this recipe from Plain Chicken – that adds cream cheese!  Completely swoon-worthy, I assure you.

And if you’re a non-pork eater, you can definitely use turkey sausage… just kick up the seasonings a little to make the bites *pop*.

Enjoy!

(c) Plain Chicken Blog

Cream Cheese Sausage Cheese Balls

  • 1 lb hot sausage, uncooked
  • 8 oz cream cheese, softened
  • 1 1/4 cups Bisquick
  • 4 oz cheddar cheese, shredded

Preheat oven to 400F.

Mix all ingredients until well combined.  (I use my KitchenAid mixer with the dough hook attachment.)  Roll into 1-inch balls.  Bake for 20-25 minutes, or until brown.

Sausage balls may be frozen uncooked.  If baking frozen, add a few minutes to the baking time.

2 thoughts on “warm nibbly treat…

Leave a Reply

