Recipes

mid-week dining

I’m not a gourmet chef, y’all… In fact, I’m pretty much walking that knife-edge of ’embarrassing’ as a Southern Chick.  I can do some things in the kitchen, but not nearly all I probably *should* be able to do.

But that’s ok, my magic isn’t in pots & pans… I know a Kitchen Witch – a beautiful soul whose athame can be any knife in the block, and whose wand is just as likely to be a big wooden spoon as anything else. I’ll leave the iron-skillet magic to her, thank you very much.

What I need sometimes is just something fast. Easy. Tasty. Something that’ll cover my dinner needs & get me on to the next task. This, my lovelies, definitely fits the bill.

Italian Crescent Casserole

(modified from Real Mom Kitchen)

Ingredients

  • 1lb ground beef, cooked and drained
  • 1 cup spaghetti sauce (or to taste)
  • 1can (8 oz) Pillsbury® refrigerated crescent dinner rolls (I used the BIG ones)
  • 1 1/2 cups shredded Italian cheese blend (You know I used more than this! lol)

Instructions

  1. In skillet, mix cooked beef and sauce. Heat over medium heat until warm.
  2. Separate crescent dough into 8 triangles. Place dough in ungreased 9-inch glass pie plate in spoke pattern, with narrow tips overlapping rim of plate about 3 inches.
  3. Press dough in side and bottom of pan to form crust and cover the pan. Sprinkle with 1 cup of the cheese over dough in the pan. (I added some garlic powder here)
  4. Spoon meat mixture evenly over cheese.
  5. Bring tips of dough over filling to meet in center; do not overlap.
  6. Sprinkle with remaining 1/2 cup cheese over the dish. Sprinkle any desired seasonings over the top. Bake at 375°F 15 to 20 minutes.

And that’s it! Easy-peasy & so very yummy. Happy Eating!

So yummy!

6 thoughts on “mid-week dining

  1. Well. That looks like a comforting dinner to me! I’m trying this the next time I’m tired and starvin’. Love, Seba

  2. Oh, and FYI: I just added this fabulous blog as a link on my blog page. Permanently. 🙂

Leave a Reply

