Recipes

guilt-free goody…

It’s been a while since I’ve posted a recipe, and there’s a reason for that. A while back, my doctor (in an attempt to test for a myriad of things) put me on a temporary “gluten-free, sugar-free, wheat-free, flour-free” etc etc etc diet. I called it the “everything good-free” diet.

The first week and a half, I thought I was going to lose it. It was such an insanely drastic change in my eating habits, that I rebelled: mind, spirit & body. It was miserable. I didn’t cheat – but I hated every second of it.

Then my body started adjusting… I started chilling out… and I turned my creative eye toward what I *could* have instead of bitching about what I couldn’t.

Those who know me know I’m addicted to desserts – LOVE. THEM. They’re what I’m best at making, and there are very few I don’t like. Most I’m obsessive about. So not being able to have any kind of dessert (nope, not even ‘fat-free, sugar-free’ because I can’t have most artificial sweeteners) was a pretty rough gig.

Once I started looking at what I could have, something just clicked – cashew butter… check!, almond milk… check!, stevia… check! And thus, the peanut butter ‘ice cream’ was born.

So here’s how it works:

Minimal Ingredients

Ingredients:

  • almond milk
  • organic cashew butter
  • stevia
  • blender

Notice how I didn’t put any amounts… that’s really up to you – and it’s totally a trial & error thing. Literally every time I make this, it’s different. It’s all ‘to-taste’ and consistency. More milk, kinda like a milkshake; less milk, more ice-creamy. So have fun!

So you dump all your (three) ingredients into a little blender-cup (if you don’t have a little one, then a big one is fine… this is just really convenient) and BLEND. Whew! This is getting tough, huh? Post-blending, it’ll look a little something like this:

Blendy Goodness

Then, pop in the freezer – I leave the blender-base on, but you could wrap it w/ tinfoil or something if you’d rather.

Again, time left in the freezer is really up to you. Test it out, find out how long you want to leave it in for whatever consistency you want.

And… are you ready for this? Take it out & eat! I know, I know… it’s really difficult, but I believe in you – you can do it!

Final Results… Yum!

So there you have it… no gluten or sugar or splenda or peanuts or… well, just about anything. But a simple & really yummy, totally healthy dessert!

Note: Sometimes I don’t think to make this ahead, and I want it right now, so in those instances I add a few pieces of ice when I blend – chills it up nicely.

And in case you’re wondering what dinner this little treat followed last night, here you have it:

Hickory Tilapia & Cheesy-Cajun Quinoa

That’s all for today. Have a great one!

Update: If you have a little wiggle-room on the natural sweetener thing (because all almond milk has some sugar in it), then try the recipe with chocolate almond milk… it’s so good!!

Leave a Reply

