Symbols

cinnamon treat

I’m out of town at the moment, my lovelies… Gone to a Gathering with my Tribe, my Family, the other bits of my Soul. Only once or twice a year we’re able to all get together, so needless to say I won’t be online for a few days! 😀

Didn’t want to leave you hanging, though, so I decided to schedule this post for while I was gone.

See… it’s kind of a secret – because I made a little goodie to take with me this weekend, and didn’t want to spoil the surprise… but YOU are getting to see this post early; probably before I share my goodie with the Gathering. Cool, huh?

Well, I hope you enjoy it – because I made cinnamon ornaments! That’s right… these babies are almost completely made out of cinnamon. And yes, they smell amazing… !

So here we go:

Gathering the Supplies

DIY Cinnamon Ornaments

Mix together in a bowl –

  • 1 cup ground Cinnamon
  • 1/4 cup applesauce

Add in –

  • 1/2 cup craft glue

Stir the dough until consistency is smooth & dry. Let stand 1 hour.

Dough

Turn out 1/4 of dough onto a cool, flat surface; flatten with your hands.

Flatten with a rolling pin to 1/4 inch thick. Note: I could never get the rolling pin to work, I just used my hands. If it’s too dry (not at all my problem) spritz with water. If it’s sticky, sprinkle with additional cinnamon (I did that a LOT).

Once you roll out the ‘dough’, you can use any combination of cookie cutters, biscuit cutters, or just plain hand-molding to get whatever shape you want. Repeat with the rest of the dough.

I knew I wanted to make little ornaments with a Pentagram, so I’d found a cookie press with the shape, and one of my biscuit cutters was the perfect size circle.

Little Bitty Ornaments all in a Row

With a straw, poke a hole in the ornament where you want the ribbon to go. These are little, but luckily I have very skinny straws. A regular size one wouldn’t have worked.

Air-dry on a wire rack lined with paper towels for 24 hours, turning them over every 6 hours or so to make sure they stay flat. This is what I should have done – but I was pressed for time, so I tried the bake method. You can put them on a baking sheet & bake at 200 for 2 hours, flipping over after an hour. It works, but I don’t recommend it. A good number of my ornaments curled a bit… Meh. I’m a perfectionist, I didn’t like that. Of course, it could have been the parchment paper – I don’t think it was laying flat… so baking is probably fine.

Then decorate. You can really use anything – paint, glitter, gemstones, whatever floats your boat. I personally thought a bit of gold leafing would look amazing on these bad boys, so I found some fake ‘rub-on’ gold leaf paint & dove in with my fingertips. It was actually pretty fun.

Rub-on Gold Leaf

Turned out kinda nice, huh?

Finished Ornament

Anyhoo, so after all that just string some ribbon & you’re all set!

And yes, even after all the decorating, they smell AMAZING. You’ll love ’em. If you make some, send me pictures – I’d love to see!

Have a fantabulous weekend…

I’ll be back soon!

6 thoughts on “cinnamon treat

    • Awww – thank *you*! 🙂 It was my pleasure & I’m so happy that they were enjoyed. I’ve heard that if you wrap them in wax paper when you store them they can last (with scent!) for quite a few years.

      And I think more have been requested for Ostara, so I’ll have the chance to try the ‘real’ drying method.

  1. I liked that they curled and bubbled a little, it gave them personality. Thank you again, mine is sitting on my altar and makes me happy every time I see it.

    • I’m so glad! I have a little crystal sitting on my altar that makes me happy when I see it. 🙂 And don’t they just smell amazing?? Thanks for letting me know you like the curled-up result… I was feeling bad that I’d messed them up. You’re a sweetheart.

  2. I just love mine. Gives me lots of ideas. Dana has big yule get together, she’ll love these.

Leave a Reply

