Recipes

a decadent morning

Hello my lovelies!

Well, we’re all-in on the holiday season, aren’t we? And you know what that means… GOODIES! Not as much as we may like, or in some cases far more than we should, but no matter the amount, goodies are everywhere & most of them are IN-credible.

But with all the craziness, maybe you don’t have a lot of time to fix up a good ol’ country mess ‘o goodies. It’s ok, it happens… I’m a city-livin’ girl, myself, and I always run out of time and don’t get done nearly what I want to.

One of the things I love to do, though, is present a great breakfast when I have weekend guests. As I’ve said before, I’m no great cook – I do cookies and things pretty well, but the finer points of great Southern Cooking have thus far escaped me. So you know if I’m gonna make it, it has to be easy!

And thus, I present to you…

Quick & Easy Breakfast Treat

(found on The Jones Way – she’s got *far* better pictures… luscious!)

  • 2 small tubes refrigerator buttermilk biscuits
  • 3 Tbsp. butter, melted
  • 1/2 C. pancake syrup (whatever your fav is)
  • 1/3 C. packed light brown sugar
  • 1/2 tsp. cinnamon
  • 1/4 C. chopped pecans, optional
  • 1/4 C. chopped almonds, optional
It is worth noting that I did NOT use any nuts. I love nuts, but I typically do not put them in my baking – I prefer them by themselves. However, if you’re a nut-freak (lol!) then knock yourself out.

Few Points of Note – (1) I only had dark brown sugar on hand, used it & it worked just fine. (2) I had to ‘mish’ the biscuits a bit to fit the whole two tubes in there, but you WANT to do that… you’ll want as many biscuits in there as you can get. (3) Instead of cinnamon, I used my Pumpkin Pie Spice… and a good bit more than 1/2 tsp. This is one of those ‘to taste’ things, but I personally can’t get enough of that yummo spice!

Ok! So here we go. This is really tough, ok? So hang on…

Directions

Spray a fluted pan with non-stick spray. Combine the melted butter and syrup in a small bowl and set aside (mix well!). In another bowl, combine the brown sugar, cinnamon, and nuts (if desired).

Pour about half of the syrup mixture in the bottom of the pan. Then sprinkle half of the brown sugar mixture on top. Lay the biscuits on the bottom of the pan, overlapping edges (closely together) to form a ring. Top with remaining syrup and sugar mixtures.

Bake at 375 degrees for approximately 20-25 minutes or until golden brown. Cool for 1 minute in the pan, then invert onto a serving platter.

See? Like I said… really tough! (lol)

So here’s a pre-cooked picture. It is truly horrid. That’s what happens when your camera is in the room where someone is sleeping & you’re trying to cook before waking people up & you only have your crap-tastic cell phone. Ah well, it beats a blank.

And I’d have an ‘after’ picture for you, but these were literally gone before I could grab my camera! Suffice it to say, they were *amazing*, looked great, smelled better & were pure decadence. An indication of how good they were… I served something else w/ them, but I seriously cannot even remember what that was!

So there you have it – a fast, easy, OMG good breakfast treat. In case you’re wondering, I will be making it again on xmas morning. 😀

Pre-cooked Breakfast Ring

Pre-cooked Breakfast Ring

2 thoughts on “a decadent morning

Leave a Reply

