Recipes

death by cake…

So! I promised you recipes, didn’t I? Well, today you shall have two. Just not in the same post. 😀 First up – ‘Death by Cake’. Seriously. You’ll find out why in a minute. Put away the flour & the hooptie-la… THIS cook doesn’t get fancy, she gets boxes. And then tweaks them. Oooooh, the tweak-age.

You will need the following:

  • Cake Mix
  • 3 Eggs
  • Pint of Ben & Jerry’s Ice cream (melted)
  • Liquor of Choice

Ah ha! You are completely intrigued now, aren’t you? … Yes indeed, I thought so. This decadence is so simple, I swear, you don’t even have to be a witch to make it amazing… but it sure does help. 🙂

Now, for my recipe, I used this:

Fudge Truffle… Nice start, eh?

And this:

Ben… Jerry… my boys, you never fail me.

And this:

baileys

You cannot go wrong with the original.

We will pause now for a moment so that you may wipe the drool. It’s ok… we all know it’s happening. But you’re already completely into this, aren’t you? That’s right… if you’re my kinda person, you’re definitely into this – and if you’re not… well, there’s just not room in my life for that kinda person.

So you grab a bundt pan, and spray it down. That’s pretty important, you don’t want this lovely thing to stick. You can get fancy w/ the pan if you want, but the old stand-by classic is what I use.

In a bowl, you mix the cake mix, eggs & melted ice cream. That’s all. No milk or oil or any of that. Mix well.

If you are adventurous (and you know I am!) you will mix some of your liquor of choice into the cake. Amount totally to taste. I’m a saucy Irish-Southerner, so you know mine was pretty heavy. (You might wanna take a swig or two… you know… just to make sure it’s still fresh) Mix mix mix.

Pour into the bundt pan & bake as directed.

After baking (and leaving to cool the amount of time suggested by the box), it’s time to flip that bad-boy out. Should be pretty easy.

Then, make your glaze. Now, this particular box of cake-mix comes with its own glaze-mix… easy peezy. If you don’t have that, you can always whisk 1/4 cup milk, 2 cups powdered sugar & a tsp of vanilla over low heat until it’s smooth. Either way it gets the job done.

Now, the box-glaze says to add some water & some oil… I added a smidge of both… and then a LOT of liquor. You know, until the consistency was right. Also, you might want to taste-test that bad-boy again – might have gone bad since you made the cake.

Pour glaze over cake.

Serve… if you really like those people well enough. Otherwise, hoard & enjoy all yourself!

That’s it. Really. That simple. And you end up with something like this:

Bailey's Cake

Ahhhh, the decadence…

This is one of those cakes that actually gets better every day after you make it. The glaze starts to soak into the cake & it just gets more moist & liquor-y… TO. DIE. Seriously. It’s amazing.

Anyhoo – now you have the tools & you can make one for yourself! Feel free to mix up the cake mixes, ice cream flavors, and liquors – there is NO end to the fabulous combos you can come up with. 😀

2 thoughts on “death by cake…

  1. That looks delicious! I love bundt tins, wish I could have one. Can’t justify the space required though – my little kitchen is bursting!

    • Thanks for the compliment – it was definitely a hit with ‘the crowd’. LoL

      I know what you mean about a tiny bursting kitchen… mine is too! 🙂 But I can’t get rid of my bundt pan – I use it for too many things.

      Good news is, you can make the recipe w/ any cake mix & any cake pan!

Leave a Reply

