Recipes / Seasons

mabon: in review

Ok my lovelies… Just a quick pop in today. Life has been *nuts* lately, and the brain is just spinning. Got some stuff to share with you coming up, but wanted to get you a fun little ‘something’ in the meantime.

I hope your Mabon was spectacular – mine was! It was such a joy to relax and take my time over the weekend… do some good cooking without being stressed out from work. You know how it goes!

There’s always a feeling in the air for me at this time of the year – ‘my’ half of the wheel is coming back around, and I just come alive. Mabon is like the gateway, and I can’t get enough! But even so, you know me by now… I’m really not the ‘down in the dirt, all from scratch’ kinda witch. I’m a city-witch, and I like my kitchen creations to be easy. Sometimes, that sacrifices taste somewhat, but OH (!) have I got something for you!

I started building my Mabon table offerings with the meat. Duh, right? Well, I’m not all that keen on fixing most meat-things. Seafood I’ve got down pretty well, burgers I can slap together… but generally, not my forte. But then… Oooooh then. I came across a recipe for ‘Mississippi Roast’ (you may have seen it floating around FB and Pinterest). At first, I completely discounted it because how could something so easy really be that good? … But then one of the amazing pagan chicas in my ‘circle’ (as in, community, not coven) tried it & gave it a rave. WELL. I figured we had a winner! So I was game to try it.

Watch this – so easy, you’re gonna flip:

MS Roast

Photo thanks to the fabulous Vic Montañez – on account of I got too busy & didn’t snap any.

Mississippi Roast

  • 2 lb roast (beef or pork)
  • Packet of Ranch Dressing Powder
  • Packet of Au Jus Powder
  • Stick of Butter
  • Pepperoncinis (optional)

Got that? Cuz that’s IT. Seriously. To make it is even easier:

  1. Spray the crockpot (you don’t want sticking).
  2. Place Roast.
  3. Sprinkle 2 packets over Roast.
  4. Top with Stick of Butter & Pepperoncinis.
  5. Cover. Cook on Low for 7 hours.

Once again… that’s IT. I’m not lyin’! There’s some wiggle-room in there to make it your own, like I’m not a peppers fan so I didn’t use the pepperoncinis – but I did sprinkle a bit of cajun seasoning over the roast. And I used a pork roast instead of beef (in the picture). And Bestie sprinkled a bit of meat tenderizer over the roast at about 4 hours in… dunno if it made any difference, but it was super-scrumptious! The roast was literally falling apart in the crockpot. I used the TONGS to separate out servings – a knife would have been impossible. Luscious.  That’s the word.

I also added a couple sweet potatoes & thick-cut carrots at 3 hours remaining on the cook-time. After an hour & a half, I turned the potatoes over… they ended up like mashed sweet potatoes *in* the skin. Unreal.

For the rest of my Mabon meal I had buttermilk biscuits with pumpkin-spice butter, and a pumpkin cake with apple cider glaze for dessert.

All in all, I couldn’t have asked for a better holiday. It was magic, just like it’s meant to be!

May each of you enjoy every moment of this wonderous season.

Love & Light!

(P.S. – The next night bestie & I took the leftover roast & made pulled-pork hoagies w/ a touch of horseradish sauce & melted mozz cheese… with some of the ‘broth’ for dipping. … I almost cried, it was so good!)

Mabon

Photo Credit: Unknown … If you know, please tell me & I’ll add it!

Leave a Reply

