Fun / Seasons

fast & easy Samhain project

Hello my Lovelies! Quick & fun little project today. 🙂

If you’re anything like me, October is insanely busy. There are rituals to do, holidays to prepare for, the New Year is almost upon us, and there are a million and one FAN-tabulous things to do as Autumn moves into full swing. In the midst of planning costumes, decorating, and searching for that ‘perfect’ candle for Samhain (come on, you know you do!) – what happens if you have a sudden (or forgotten) invitation and you need to bring a gift? Or – you’re hosting a party and have decided you *just* don’t have enough cool themed stuff to set out?

Well, I’m here to help! Because I’ve got a ridiculously easy (and fast!) project that answers that dilemma in no time flat. Oh yeah, and it’s crazy affordable too. Am I looking out for you, or what?! 😀

So here’s what you need:

  • A Pēbēo Porcelaine Pen
  • Something Porcelain
Pic-1

One… and Two… Yeah, that’s a lot of supplies.

Seriously. That’s it. Oh, well, you’ll need an oven. But I’m assuming you have one of those.

This little project will work on anything porcelain. Plate (as seen here), mug, vase, you name it. I got this plate at my local Thrift Store (I love shopping thrift!) for only a dollar. But you can find similar things all over the place and not have to spend a lot of money.

Once you try this, you’re going to love it so much that you’ll start trolling garage sales for mis-matched mugs and plates – just wait!

So then you pick what you want to put on the item. Could be a saying, a drawing, someone’s name, initials – it’s a blank slate… go nuts! Do whatever you want to; and don’t worry about messing up, the ink is pretty easy to wipe off if you make a mistake. It’s not permanent until later.

For my sample project, I wanted to stick with the Halloween theme, so I picked a saying that I’ve always loved. It’s simple, and I just think it’s really cute and festive. Now, I happen to have what my friends call “typewriter handwriting” so I just did mine free-hand. If you’re more unsure about how yours will come out, you can use painter’s tape to keep straight lines or a stencil or template to help your design.

But just take that pen & go to writing!

Pic-2

Can be anything you want…

See? Literally that simple. Takes no time at all.

Once you’re done with whatever design you want on your piece(s), follow the directions for the pen. Some of them just need to sit out and air dry for a certain amount of time, some of them need to be baked to truly ‘lock’ the design. If you do what the packaging says, you’ll be golden.

Note: I’ve heard of others using a Sharpie & baking it at 350° for 30 minutes. Others have said it works, but I haven’t tried it myself, so I can’t give you a definite on that one.

Once the whole drying/baking process is done, your piece is supposed to be dishwasher safe. Likely it is, but I don’t trust it – I always hand wash my personalized items & advise anyone I’ve given gifts to do the same. But that’s your call!

So there you have it… A super-fast, super-easy, super-CHEAP but also really cool crafty project.

Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

